A Recognized Architectural Symbol of Buffalo Niagara
Since its official opening on August 7, 1927, the Peace Bridge and its graceful arches have provided travelers and passersby with an elegant pathway over the mighty Niagara River and the adjacent eastern end of Lake Erie. The Peace Bridge consists of five arched spans over the Niagara River and a Parker through-truss span over the Black Rock Canal on the American side of the river. The total length is 5,800 feet (1,768 m). Material used in the construction included 3,500 feet (1,067 m) of steelwork, 9,000 tons of structural steel, and 800 tons of reinforcing steel in the concrete abutments.
In May 2009, the Authority launched a state of the art LED bridge lighting system controlled by sophisticated computer software. This system possesses unlimited color options, timings and themes, allowing for the Peace Bridge to offer unique and captivating lighting at the push of a button. Such lighting options include special color themes for various American and Canadian national holidays, Buffalo Bills and Buffalo Sabres home games, as well as specific community health advocacy events, upon request.
The lighting system operates daily from 9:00 p.m. until 1:00 a.m. and from 5:00 a.m. through 6:00 a.m. It also requires less physical maintenance than traditional bridge lighting and provides improved security lighting for the entire border crossing. When the illumination shows are not in service, the bridge remains lit through low-level intensity beams of white light.